Introduction
Mar. 7th, 2011 03:17 pmHi! I thought I'd post an introduction here for those new to my flist and anyone interested in finding out more about me that I may not have previously posted. So. First of all, I'm Meredith. I've been on livejournal since grade 11 of high school (which was 2006, if I'm remembering correcly). My first LJ was
wiccan_5, but after awhile I decided I wanted a name change and have since been
xfirefly9x.
Some random facts about me:
- My birthday is Valentine's Day.
- I have an amazing boyfriend named Zach. (
solaris242)
- My favourite colour was blue for many years, but these days I don't consider myself to have a favourite colour. That said, I do love green and blue (still) and nature-y colours and I don't like pink.
- I'm currently studying a Bachelor of Creative Industries (Interdisciplinary) with a co-major in Creative Writing and minor in Digital Media at QUT. I intend on enrolling in another uni course at UQ next year, when my current course is complete.
- I've had a poem published at 63channels in the Aug/Sept '09 issue, and I have written and had published a book review at M/C Reviews.
- Pineapples are awesome. ♥
- Writing, Firefly and Simple Plan are some of my biggest loves (general, TV, music).
- My family is pretty screwed up. I've had some friends who have been pretty screwed up (ex-friends now). This has screwed up me a little bit and I'm a bit edgy around people sometimes. So far this applies mostly only to RL. I am tentative about adding some people online because someone once copied some of my stuff (only layout stuff but by the end her journal looked almost identical to mine).
- I'm anti-smoking in a big way. I've never tried it. Just standing next to someone or in the same area as someone who is smoking gives me headaches and/or makes me queasy. My brother smokes. :/
- I'm very skilled at procrastinating. Right now, for example, I was hoping to be heading out in order to get a new ID card sorted out before my 5pm class. And yet...
adding in:
- I'm doing an editing internship for M/C Reviews.
- Insomnia is something I post about on occasion. When I get it, I get it bad, and if you read my LJ when I have insomnia, you will know about it, mostly through "OMG!make!it!go!away!" posts.
- I'm hopeless at sending snail mail out when I promise it to people. I will do my best to mail it at some point however, at which point mailees may receive huge packages full of messages I've written over the past two or three years, depending on how long I've left it.
- I buy way too many books and DVDs and pens, and I'm obsessed with having back ups for my external hard drives. I also have a laptop in case my computer fails and a netbook in case my laptop fails. (Also the netbook is awesome for uni.) I have an eReader which is shiny and full of books I most likely won't read but I downloaded because they were free, and 3 iPods, 2 of which are not working properly. I keep them all anyway.
- I can get very OCD at times. I like things to be ordered and tidy.
- I name inanimate objects - usually after TV characters.
Fandom:
- I'm obsessed with anything related to Firefly, Nathan Fillion, Morena Baccarin and Joss Whedon.
- My top 10 fandoms are currently: Firefly, The X Files, Stargate SG-1, Leverage, Lie To Me, Psych, Community, Castle, House MD and CSI NY.
- I despise fandom bashing and fandom wars. The whole point of fandom is to have fun and obsess over TV series, books, movies, whatever, not to say bad things about it.
- I write fanfic which can be found either here or at
xfirefly9x_fic.
- I also dabble in icon making. You can see my posted works at
dreamsnatch.
- I love reading novels that were later turned into TV series (eg. series by Kathy Reichs, Jeff Lindsay, Jim Butcher, etc.)
- Zach got me hooked on comics this year, particularly Buffy and Angel ones.
- I multi-ship.
- I'm a little weird when it comes to spoilers. For some shows, I'll read every spoiler I come across. For most shows though, I'll get really pissed off if someone spoils me. If any of my posts contain spoilers (even old shows! just because a show has been aired, it doesn't mean everyone has seen every episode) I will put it behind an lj-cut and provide warnings, just in case.
- There is nothing in the universe more evil than FOXand people who talk at the theatre.
If anyone has any questions about me or anything else, no matter how random, leave them in a comment. ;)
Some random facts about me:
- My birthday is Valentine's Day.
- I have an amazing boyfriend named Zach. (
- My favourite colour was blue for many years, but these days I don't consider myself to have a favourite colour. That said, I do love green and blue (still) and nature-y colours and I don't like pink.
- I'm currently studying a Bachelor of Creative Industries (Interdisciplinary) with a co-major in Creative Writing and minor in Digital Media at QUT. I intend on enrolling in another uni course at UQ next year, when my current course is complete.
- I've had a poem published at 63channels in the Aug/Sept '09 issue, and I have written and had published a book review at M/C Reviews.
- Pineapples are awesome. ♥
- Writing, Firefly and Simple Plan are some of my biggest loves (general, TV, music).
- My family is pretty screwed up. I've had some friends who have been pretty screwed up (ex-friends now). This has screwed up me a little bit and I'm a bit edgy around people sometimes. So far this applies mostly only to RL. I am tentative about adding some people online because someone once copied some of my stuff (only layout stuff but by the end her journal looked almost identical to mine).
- I'm anti-smoking in a big way. I've never tried it. Just standing next to someone or in the same area as someone who is smoking gives me headaches and/or makes me queasy. My brother smokes. :/
- I'm very skilled at procrastinating. Right now, for example, I was hoping to be heading out in order to get a new ID card sorted out before my 5pm class. And yet...
adding in:
- I'm doing an editing internship for M/C Reviews.
- Insomnia is something I post about on occasion. When I get it, I get it bad, and if you read my LJ when I have insomnia, you will know about it, mostly through "OMG!make!it!go!away!" posts.
- I'm hopeless at sending snail mail out when I promise it to people. I will do my best to mail it at some point however, at which point mailees may receive huge packages full of messages I've written over the past two or three years, depending on how long I've left it.
- I buy way too many books and DVDs and pens, and I'm obsessed with having back ups for my external hard drives. I also have a laptop in case my computer fails and a netbook in case my laptop fails. (Also the netbook is awesome for uni.) I have an eReader which is shiny and full of books I most likely won't read but I downloaded because they were free, and 3 iPods, 2 of which are not working properly. I keep them all anyway.
- I can get very OCD at times. I like things to be ordered and tidy.
- I name inanimate objects - usually after TV characters.
Fandom:
- I'm obsessed with anything related to Firefly, Nathan Fillion, Morena Baccarin and Joss Whedon.
- My top 10 fandoms are currently: Firefly, The X Files, Stargate SG-1, Leverage, Lie To Me, Psych, Community, Castle, House MD and CSI NY.
- I despise fandom bashing and fandom wars. The whole point of fandom is to have fun and obsess over TV series, books, movies, whatever, not to say bad things about it.
- I write fanfic which can be found either here or at
- I also dabble in icon making. You can see my posted works at
- I love reading novels that were later turned into TV series (eg. series by Kathy Reichs, Jeff Lindsay, Jim Butcher, etc.)
- Zach got me hooked on comics this year, particularly Buffy and Angel ones.
- I multi-ship.
- I'm a little weird when it comes to spoilers. For some shows, I'll read every spoiler I come across. For most shows though, I'll get really pissed off if someone spoils me. If any of my posts contain spoilers (even old shows! just because a show has been aired, it doesn't mean everyone has seen every episode) I will put it behind an lj-cut and provide warnings, just in case.
- There is nothing in the universe more evil than FOX
If anyone has any questions about me or anything else, no matter how random, leave them in a comment. ;)
no subject
Date: 2011-03-07 10:49 am (UTC)I despise fandom bashing and fandom wars. The whole point of fandom is to have fun and obsess over TV series, books, movies, whatever, not to say bad things about it.
I hear ya! And I hate spammers/scammers in fandom too. The whole reason I even became a mod at
And I'm the same with spoilers as you! But... don't try to guess which shows I don't mind being spoilt on, because THAT changes constantly. :P
no subject
Date: 2011-03-07 03:43 pm (UTC)Spammers/scammers.. yes, those also! And people who give fandom a bad name. (Skip back several posts and read the one titled "Selling of fanfiction" or similar for more specifics on that. :/)
Ooh. Mod at
Hee! IKR? I'm the same. One week I'll read spoilers for one show, but the next I'll decide I want to just watch as it airs.. and.. yesss. Varies a lot with that lol
no subject
Date: 2011-03-12 07:13 am (UTC)Haha, oh that sounds like an interesting post, without reading it. ;)
I've been a mod over there for YEARS now! Back when it was three of my fairly good LJ friends running it... But two of them in particularly are now rarely on LJ! I was never much of an active mod, more the "secret surveyor" to make sure no mischief was made while I was around to see it. ;)
LOL yep, that's me in a nut shell too! :P
no subject
Date: 2011-03-14 05:19 pm (UTC)I have s1-2 on DVD, impatiently awaiting s3 (and s4!)
It's amazing how many awesome series don't show up on Aust. TV. :/
lol niiice. :)
no subject
Date: 2011-03-07 01:14 pm (UTC)Hm, I don't know if I've ever done an 'intro' post...
(Oh noes, here comes procrastination..)
no subject
Date: 2011-03-07 03:40 pm (UTC)Naughty, skipping lectures! *pets you*
Good that it didn't take long.
You have now.. ;D
:P
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 01:43 am (UTC)Train concession took longer since they have to actually write and stamp things.
Well, it was either that or risk getting a $200 fine...though I think they are being lenient at the start of term, don't want to risk it.
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 02:13 am (UTC)Train concession took longer since they have to actually write and stamp things.
Wow.. really? Mine took less than a minute. :P Weird how it's kinda opposite there.
Anyway.
They give fines for not having your student ID? o___0
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 02:22 am (UTC)Yeah, all the forms we haev for concession cards, then after the uni stamps it declaring you a student it has to go through the Metro (train offices) and they do things.
Well, fines for not having a valid concession/student travel ID if the ticket inspectors check, that is.
I just made a new blog for uni...joy. *rolls eyes*
http://ephemeralestate.wordpress.com/
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 02:39 am (UTC)o__0 Wow. Sounds a lot more complex than here. I just had to go to student services, get a photo taken, wait 5 mins.. and then later in the city I handed it over to someone working in a store in the centre of the city and they were gone 30 secs on the computer and were done.
Ohhh. Fine. As in train/buses.. Got you now.
Uni blog.. ooooh. Shall open but look later. I should shower and get ready for uni now. *sads* Talk tonight perhaps. If I haven't died from 8:30 finish. Which.. I might take my netbook in today for the break.... only an hr and a half break, could use it to get food, but... ehhh.
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 08:49 am (UTC)Arh, that's so good that they let the uni take the photos! We have to provide two identical passport quality photos so go to where you'd usually get passport photos from! So it costs like $6-12 for photos...but dad copied the last one I had left from earlier this year onto photo quality paper and luckily they accepted it! XD
Yeah, I need to expand on it yesterday. (In Gibbs speak so to speak) 8.30 at uni? Heh, our timetables are quite opposite me having the morning 8.30, you at night. Well, at least we have the weekend and a few hours later replies aren't the end all. :P
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 01:24 pm (UTC)Stickers for that? Seems a bit tacky. :/ And yeah.. what you said about the discounts.
o__0 Wow. Sounds so much more complex than ours. Cost me nothing, and they took the photo and all, right then.
lol yesss. Opposite timetables indeed. *sigh*
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 01:27 pm (UTC)I'm half surprised our uni has a new building that is being used whilst a bit is getting finished. And the building is apparently the first sustainable building in a university Australia wide.
Yeah, that's the system's for you. You're lucky.
:P
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 01:30 pm (UTC)I am indeed feeling lucky. Had thought I would have to pay for a replacement card actually, so was surprised when not.
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 01:38 pm (UTC)That's good. :)
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 01:40 pm (UTC):)
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 01:55 pm (UTC)You can go here (http://www.swinburne.edu.au/chancellery/mediacentre/media-centre/news/2011/02/atc-opens-for-business) for more information and pictures on it.
And we also have another new building (http://www.swinburne.edu.au/chancellery/mediacentre/media-centre/news/2011/03/opening-ceremony-for-the-george)
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 01:59 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 02:07 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-04-23 08:30 pm (UTC)Anyway. I watched 3x03 of Bones last night. I don't get punished now. :DDD
And I've updated this post (intro post) and the top entry if you make a trip to my main lj pg. The friends only one, I mean. *nod nod*
Also, g'morning. Have an awesome day. :D I'm going to go write and get some sleep nowish.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-24 02:15 pm (UTC)Ah. Nice job on the intro post info. :)
Thanks, my day was okay, hope yours was good.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-25 06:27 pm (UTC)Thanks lol. I had an urge to tidy up my profile a bit.. ended up not touching it but altering a few things in the linked posts (and friends only post).
Glad your day was okay, sad it wasn't awesome.
Mine was decent. Got some reading done. And lots of rest. Still tired, but ehhh. The rambly, stay up a bit longer to tire out the brain tired.
no subject
Date: 2011-03-07 01:17 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-03-07 03:38 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-03-07 02:41 pm (UTC)Love. :)
no subject
Date: 2011-03-07 03:38 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-03-07 05:31 pm (UTC)And I'm pretty similiar when it comes to spoilers. For True Blood for example,I read them all or I read spoilers about shows when the new season is still far away and you only get very vague stuff or casting news...
no subject
Date: 2011-03-08 02:14 am (UTC)Yep. I do that a bit too. But then, sometimes for some reason if a show has something big coming up, I prefer going in unspoiled. So it varies.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-24 06:10 am (UTC)I can't stand smokers. It makes it hard for me to breathe when I'm around them. It's a horrible feeling. I end up coughing like crazy.
Hahaha! Snail mail!! I love writing them but I'm so slack. It took me exactly 1 year to reply to my friend's letter. And it was over 20 pages (front & back included) coz I hadta update her on my life for that whole year and also reply her letter. Add in the fact that I tend to go off track and ramble about random things...... XD Yeah, I started the letter in June and finished it in August-ish? XD
I hear ya in the OCD bit! My DVD/CD/Books are organised in alphabetical order. For my music cds, for e.g. my Boyzone albums, they're organised by year of release. Heck, even my drawer is colour co-ordinated. Even went as far as arranging them e.g. collar/no collar, short sleeve/long sleeve/sleeveless. Yeah.... you get the picture. XD
Fandom bashing. I don't understand the hate. The whole reason for fandom is for people with similar interest to come together and have discussions and make new friends out of it. There's no need for hate. Seriously.
I'm a spoiler junkie/whore. But I can be good too as in I can wait til the shows air here and watch it rather than read up online. But, the downside is that I end up spoiling myself by clicking on the wrong thing. Has happened heaps of time, especially for Bones & House.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-24 01:51 pm (UTC)Yeah, same!
lol.. I have a pile of snail mail like that.. Must send it out one day, before people change their addresses.
Heh. My DVDs are alphabetical order. Books, not so much. They're more by genre or author and where there's shelf space leftover. :P
Soo true.
lol.. yes.. spoilers. They can be so addictive sometimes.
I hate when people spoil you like that though! I got spoiled for another show when looking up spoilers for Lie to Me. Hate them so much for doing that. :P
no subject
Date: 2011-04-25 04:23 am (UTC)Hahaha!!! I normally ask for the addresses again after I've finished writing the letters. That way I can send it off ASAP before I forget. XD *nudges you to send off your snail mails* XD
I went back and had a look at my books and they're either alphabetical order in terms of author or in terms of subject coz I put my Uni textbooks and my reading books together. If there's no space then it goes under the bed where my Uni notes are. XD
Yeah they are indeedy! That's why I love friends who put spoilers under a cut. Icons I tend to be lenient coz it can't be helped. Ikr!! I knew a girl in HS who when Harry Potter & The Order of the Phoenix came out, she walked into Chem class and pretty much announced that Sirius Black dies. >.<"
no subject
Date: 2011-04-25 06:24 pm (UTC)lol.. that's a good way to do it. I'll have to send mine this week as I've also got stuff to post for eBayers. So. :P Maybe next time I need to mail snail mail stuff out I should also sell stuff on eBay so I have no excuses lol
Ahh okay. :D Sounds like a good system.
Me too. Spoilers and lj-cuts are like.. they should get married. *nods*
Ugh. People like that suck.