xfirefly9x: (Echo // Tru // Faith)
[personal profile] xfirefly9x
I think I'm becoming a workaholic. I've spent the majority of the past three days working on uni assignments and readings and internship stuff, and sending emails about all of the above to relevant people. I've worked til my back aches more than usual and I've worked on sleep and without sleep. I'm so stressed out about everything related to uni and internship stuff right now. And the thing is, no matter how much I do, it doesn't feel like it's doing anything to my workload (even if it is). I just.. argh. I need a day off. I need to sit back and relax for at least half a day and spend the time doing something else. Anything else.

Continuing on that topic (kind of), today sucked. As in, totally entirely sucked. My day:

Woke up. Felt all right... slightly weak, heavy but light limbs at the same time (felt distanced from them, I guess.. Zach used that term for it earlier), which as the day continued on got worse and worse. Spent the morning sending emails out about internship stuff and working on a few reviews. By about 3pm, I didn't feel up to uni, so skipped my 4-5pm lecture. Lay down for an hour, tried to sleep, couldn't sleep. In just enough time, I got up and there was enough time to get to uni for my 6-9pm tutorial, so I caught the train.

The train stopped at Milton station.. for like.. 5 mins longer than it should have. It then proceeded on to Roma St station.. and stopped a few metres away for another 5 mins. I saw my bus go past as we were waiting. I was lucky and there was another bus pulling in as I hurried up the escalator to the busway (opposite side of Roma St Transit Centre to the trains, especially my train which is platform 8). Got on that bus all right. Got to uni.

Substitute teacher. Class started off a bit rocky; I wasn't sure how it'd continue to go with the substitute. Turned out he was pretty informative and easy enough to follow. HOWEVER, about 30 mins into class, an alarm went off. We had to evacuate, go down the stairs and cross the road (not good when you're feeling definite symptoms of insomnia). 10-20 mins later, we returned to class.. and class continued 20 minutes past usual time to make up for lost time and to cover everything. I was just about ready to walk out early. I hadn't eaten enough, was shaky and cold and hungry and tired past exhaustion..

Finally got out and went to the busway.. where I got on a bus that was PACKED. As in, I had to stand right up front next to the bus driver and hold onto the pole. Only 3 stops though, thankfully! Got off at Roma St station again, 2 mins til my train.. hurried to the platform, and found that platform (and all others) packed. Usually my night classes mean an empty train and bus. Not the case. The stupid Ekka means there were people everywhere. Got a seat on the train, juuust, but it was still noisy as hell and painful and ughhh.

I walked from the train with loud music in my ears ("You're Going Down", Sick Puppies) in order to try and get out of my brain for the 2 min walk before arriving home.. because I knew that as soon as I got home, I'd have about 2 hours to do research and choose a report topic (need to confirm topic tomorrow) and to do the homework for my group wiki (answer some questions; I suggested we divide them between us in the group but my dear teammate figured why not do all of them and pick the best answers of those? *fp* It'll turn out being that we have to do twice the amount of work each, because we'll have to additionally sort through answers together in class, grrrrrr!).

I am currently sitting at my desk, aching all over, tired, hungry, irritated, stressed and wanting to be someone else juust for a few hours. I'm also surrounded by a punnet of strawberries, tea, a glass of milk mixed with baileys, caramello chocolate and a shiny new book that arrived in the mail today (found it juust as I got home about 9:06pm). Trying to focus on those things and happy things, but I still feel like I'm going to break down and cry very soon. Would be the second time today. First was only a brief shedding of a few tears, but still counts, I think. I just... gaaaaaghafiheiauhf. I need a break.

Date: 2011-08-18 02:06 pm (UTC)
ext_19622: (Mal - shirtless)
From: [identity profile] xfirefly9x.livejournal.com
*takes a minute away from Exploring New Media Worlds research to tackle!glomp and attack!hug* :)

Date: 2011-08-18 03:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] shadowserenity.livejournal.com
You need tons of hugs and squishes for such a bad day. I hope you can settle your mind for at least a half day soon!

Date: 2011-08-19 03:06 am (UTC)
ext_19622: (Phoebe - charmed)
From: [identity profile] xfirefly9x.livejournal.com
Indeed I do. Did. Things did get better after I vented and got it out and spent some time killing things on Halo: Reach with Zach. Today's been better. Mostly. Log-in wouldn't work which made going into uni rather pointless and Zach is getting sick and unable to talk without being in pain, but otherwise... *sigh*

Date: 2011-08-18 05:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nytel.livejournal.com
Definitely sounds like you need a break hun. *hugs* I would also recommend trying to keep a granola bar or two, or just something as a snack, stowed away in your school bag at all times. Then if you get hungry during lectures you can just go ahead and eat instead of stuffering through it. I've found that it helps anyway. *hugs*

Date: 2011-08-19 03:09 am (UTC)
ext_19622: (Mulder - xf)
From: [identity profile] xfirefly9x.livejournal.com
A break will be awesome. I think I'll take the rest of today off, marathon stuff, do some gaming, work tomorrow and then take off Sunday as well. Give myself some time to recover and not .... die of stress.

Good idea with the snacks. I do that a lot, but haven't recently. Kind of forgotten. Or no time. Or I figure I'll buy at uni, and then don't, because I haven't gotten cash out or whatever. So. Sometime before next class, I shall buy snacks for my bag. :)

*hugs*

Date: 2011-08-18 07:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pickledminx.livejournal.com
Aw, *hugs* ! ♥

Date: 2011-08-19 03:11 am (UTC)
ext_19622: (Kaylee - serenity)
From: [identity profile] xfirefly9x.livejournal.com
*squish* Today is better. It's very average and meh, but it doesn't suck like yesterday. So I like today.

Date: 2011-08-19 01:31 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] justdreaming88.livejournal.com
*huge hug* You really do need a break. Take some time on the weekend, or even the whole weekend if you can, and just relax and sleep.

Date: 2011-08-19 03:12 am (UTC)
ext_19622: (Simon - amused)
From: [identity profile] xfirefly9x.livejournal.com
*hugs back* Do indeed. Taking the rest of today off (unless I get a craving to do some work later on after much rest). I definitely will take off Sunday too, though I'll have to do something Saturday (I said I'd send new edited reviews through for my internship then, so I'll have to do that). But yes. There will be time taken.

February 2024

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021 222324
2526272829  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:17 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios